Various Artists
[bleak029] / free
Free audio release in MP3 and FLAC formats

"Why be Blake when you can be Bleak?" is a compilation featuring not only netlabel artists, but also contributions from renowned artists from the Industrial/Experimental genres, and plain legends from the early 80's Industrial scene.

The compilation strives to provide a "cause and effect" overview of Avantgarde art, especially from the viewpoint of Industrial/Experimental and Electronic music.

All artists have agreed to provide their tracks for free download, which is very uncommon these days, given the fact that non-mainstream artists probably suffer the most from illegal file sharing, and usually hesitate to give away albums for free.

The result is a download package in the size of a 3CD-compilation, containing early unreleased tracks as well as exclusive versions of new material.

The list of contributing artists is a mixture of Industrial dinosaurs and young or new obscure artists from all over the world.

Proving that original, or "old school" Industrial is still as influential and exciting as it has been since the very beginning in the late 70's and early 80's, The Bleak Compilation continues the tradition of compilations like "The Elephant Table Sampler", "Three Minute Symphony" or "Ohrenschrauben/Ohrensausen", presenting a mixture of difficult, at times disturbing and confusing music, totally apart from any mainstream intentions.

The painting on the cover is by Jonathan Canady (best known for his power electronics outfit Deathpile) - an artist whose work is so close to what Bleak stands for that we couldn't resist asking him, and we are happy he agreed!

The list of artists who agreed to contribute is nothing less than amazing:

Dead Letters Spell Out Dead Words (Thomas Ekelund of Trepaneringsritualen), Konstruktivists, Attrition, Mushy, Cultural Amnesia, SLEEPCHAMBER, The On/Off Corporation, Wave Tank, John Zewizz, Perikomo, Josco, Das Fleisch, FRzO, MRT, Portion Control, The Altai Chamber Orchestra, Coil, Choronzon, r.A.C.K, Cultural Amnesia, Red Chamber, Bath feat. OROBL, 53, Nocturnal Emissions, Background Projection, Paluch Y, Josco, Critical Theatre, Pure, Josef Nadek, Job Karma, Firnwald, Sean Derrick Cooper Marquardt, Cezary Gapik, Stormhat, Doc Nachtstrom

We hope that with this compilation we also draw attention to our own Bleak artists, who deserve to be presented to a wider audience.

Bleak would like to thank everyone involved.
No single track downloads, please download the complete album.

01 Dead Letters Spell Out Dead Words (SWE) - Sunshine, Lollipops & Rainbows
02 Konstruktivists (UK) - Thrice Is Just As Nice
03 Attrition (UK) - The Internal Narrator (Alternate Version)
04 Mushy (IT) - Le Ultime Ore
05 Cultural Amnesia (UK) - Little Blue Grains
06 SLEEPCHAMBER (USA) - Into The Crypt (Alternate Version)
07 The On/Off Corporation (FR/AT) - Think Dark
08 Wave Tank (GR) - Let's Go (Get Cruel)
09 John Zewizz (USA) - 2012 (Inner-X-Musick Mix)
10 Perikomo (UK) - Keskitalvi
11 Josco (IRL) - Proboszczewice
12 Das Fleisch (AT) - The Final Beauty
13 FRzO (NOR) - Sinkhole
14 MRT (SRB) - Forest
15 Portion Control (UK) - Sex Drive
16 The Altai Chamber Orchestra (AT) - Law (International Audio Losers Version)

01 Coil (UK) - Manifesto

02 Choronzon (USA) - Formula
03 r.A.C.K (AT) - We Will All Be Pvnished
04 Cultural Amnesia (UK) - Brand New Day
05 Red Chamber (AT) - Coming Forth By Night
06 Bath feat. OROBL (USA) - Pooled OX
07 53 (AT) - The Art Of Self Deceit
08 Nocturnal Emissions (UK) - Revolutionary Industrial Trance
09 Background Projection (GR) - Labioveral Ectoplasm
10 Paluch Y (AT) - Maldoror Is Ded Ded Ded (Live)
11 Josco (IRL) - Denial/Realisation
12 Critical Theatre (USA) - Robot Flesh
13 Pure (AT/GER) - Mladost


01 Josef Nadek (AT) - Carrion Angel, Sing Me A Song
02 Job Karma (PL) - Hydroxizinum City 2
03 Firnwald (GER) - Invasion (Remix)
04 Sean Derrick Cooper Marquardt (USA/GER) - The Benefits Of Being A Burrnesha
05 Cezary Gapik (PL) - #466
06 Stormhat (DK) - I Den Polykrome Grusgrav
07 Dr. Nachtstrom (AT) - The Second Coming

contact faq impressum icons cart